Hidden treasure and a grumpy octopus?

The working title of my first novel is ‘Bentley The Brave: The Silver Mountains’.  I always liked three-word titles (The Holcroft Covenant, The Two Towers etc.) so I decided to stick with that for the first book.

In other news, the second novel is at the outline stage.  This one’s taking a little longer to outline.

When I began the first novel, I wrote the first nine chapters off-the-cuff, with no plan, no outline, no help of any kind.  I simply started writing what came to mind, and stalled at around chapter nine.  After I stalled, I gave up for a couple of months, then realized I REALLY enjoyed writing, and didn’t want to leave my novel unfinished.  So I went back to the start and wrote an outline to finish what I’d started.

I’m not saying it’s wrong to write without a plan – I’ve read that some pretty big names do precisely that – but it doesn’t work for me, so this time I’m making it easier on myself 🙂

So the rough scene outline involves a wild storm, a crazy seagull, a cranky octopus, a ticklish octopus, a rather large amount of treasure, and a grumpy, sleep-deprived merman.  Bentley’s in for an interesting few days 🙂

Watch this space.

Leave a comment